Register | Login

WJ Group Proactive Approach to Safety

WJ Group Proactive Approach to Safety up for Chairman’s Award  

The WJ Group’s proactive approach to safety has been nominated ‘finalist’ for a top level award.

The “Transforming Roadmarking Sector Safety Standards” submission has been shortlisted in the championing safety category within the Highways England Awards. WJ’s ambition, collaboration and constant drive to evolve and improve safety standards in the roadmarking sector is also being considered for the special Chairman’s Award which recognises excellence in safety.

The safety awards require improving health and safety through collaboration, communication and commitment to create significant change and WJ have been able to demonstrate exceptional leadership in finding better and safer ways to deliver road markings.

Craig Williams, WJ Group Health & Safety Director commented “Our sector needed a step change and we decided some time ago that for us ‘good enough was just not good enough’. It is a continuing journey of behavioural change, but we can already see that the improvements do benefit the sector, the wider industry and the road user. The Chairman’s special award recognises the company, project, team or individual that has shown substantial improvement in health and safety and to put it mildly, we are very proud that our efforts have been recognised at the highest level”

The new single Highways England Awards scheme is designed to reflect on accomplishments, celebrate the very best achievements and share examples of excellence across the industry and WJ are delighted to have been included within two other finalists’ submissions, both for the ‘improving customers journeys’ category.

The awards ceremony will be held at The Vox Conference Centre, Birmingham on 28 March 2019 when winners, from Highways England and supply chain, will be announced for each of ten categories, plus the prestigious Chairman’s Award that focuses specifically on excellence in safety and getting people home safe and well.

For more information on the awards visit

More information
Uploaded 13/02/2019